Recipe to Mother- in-law’s heart…

So for the beautiful daughter-in-law who have just attained this bliss..I’m trying to make your life easier by writing this post.. and for those ,for whom damage is already done, can still try these tips at their own risk as damage control… So my, ” pravachan” (Lecture) starts like this… ” Ek lambi saan le…..” ( Take a deep breathe).

This is not a battle field.. Score(0-0)

Rule 1.  Believe you me, a warm hug to your MIL can do wonders.( I know few reader would be feeling I have lost it!)  Well I hug my MIL to reassure her, that I care for her, respect her and I do love her.

We generally fail to put our self in her shoes. A mother-in-law is more likely to respect boundaries if she is reassured that she is respected and important part of the family.

Rule 2.Easier said than done, still try it out, “Don’t take offense at little things that aren’t meant personally,” Most of the times daughters-in-law get sensitive at anything their mothers-in-law say.” (Per main toh sunti hi nahi hoon.. acha na lagne ki toh baath hi nahi hai.. ha ha ).

Rule 3. If your mother-in-law expresses a view that differs from yours, you don’t have to get surprised about it, you can show respect for someone else’s experience and try and not show your confrontational stand too quickly. “Apne room mein you can turn your MIL’s spoil child blue black… I means that ok.. score (1-10 ).

Rule 4. Don’t fall in the trap  of those lines,” bahu nahi beti hai hamari yeh..”. 

“Don’t expect your mother-in-law to care as much about your career and your likes/dislikes as she does about her son’s,”She is his mother, and her son will always come first to her”.

Rule 5. This one is the story twister, In fact a sign of binding you in a stronger relationship, when you tell your MIL that you want to take her out for shopping. Women love gifts.. It’s an easier way to her heart. I love giving my MIL small surprise gifts, taking her for shopping, making her pamper herself in a par lour. Try it out it really works.

And “purey fasadh ki jaadh kitchen” … Learn those special recipes from her . It makes her feel like an authority on you,your mentor.. 

But believe me at this stage they look for love, respect and assurance from us….. Enjoy peace.. And remember one day you are going to be in the same shoe.. I guess a more tech savvy deadlier one.. Ha ha ha…

Leave a comment